Question of the Week: October 30th, 2012

This is the Question of the Week, a way to stimulate conversation.  It occurs every other Tuesday.

Do you celebrate Halloween, or other holidays involving costumes? What’s your favorite costume that you’ve ever worn?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: October 30th, 2012

  1. Seth says:

    A few years ago, I went to my high school Halloween dance as a generic Potterverse wizard attempting to pass for a muggle. Everyone was completely baffled when they saw me, but agreed that it worked very well when told what the costume was supposed to be.

  2. nextstepcake says:

    I consider every holiday (or rather every day) an excuse for a costume!

    Favorite costume is hard – that’s like asking a parent to pick a favorite child! I suppose though the time I cosplayed Yasuaki for a convention was one of my better costumes. Also probably the only one I ever finished more than a few hours before I was supposed to wear it.

    This halloween I’m Amy Pond (“Day of the Moon” version) which is pretty fun. Although I’m probably going to let all the non-whovians just think I’m a zombie.

  3. Queenie says:

    I always enjoy dressing up more when I’m part of a group costume. My brother and I used to dress up together every year, but we haven’t been able to since I went to college. Still, we had some pretty amazing costumes (including Pepito and Madeline, Harry and Hermione, and [with our littlest brother] the Baudelaire orphans).
    I think my absolute favorite costume was actually a cosplay (also part of a group!). My friend and I dressed up as Katara and Sokka from Avatar: The Last Airbender. We were kind of awesome-looking.

  4. tonya smith says:

    I once created an unusual, and (proudly) award-winning costume for a swap-meet Halloween contest. Using a refrigerator box, I painted it to look like an old, wooden outhouse, complete with a quarter-moon cutout on the door and hairy legs showing under the broken bottom of the door. It was a fun costume to make, but even with handles on the inside for carrying, it was pretty difficult getting up the steps of the stage. Considering the work involved, I thought the 1st prize (a set of silverware) stunk

Leave a Reply

