Become an Asexual Agenda contributor!

The Asexual Agenda is now looking for new contributors!  Would you like to join?

As a blogger for The Asexual Agenda, you’ll be expected to do a lot of e-mail correspondence, and you’ll be expected to write on occasion.

We are a blog dedicated to covering “advanced topics” in asexuality.  Basically, that means that we cover nearly anything related to the ace spectrum, with the exception of 101 material.  Asexual politics, academic research, intersectionality, stereotyping, modeling, approaches to visibility, you name it.  We are also dedicated to promoting the asexual blogging community, with our weekly linkspam, questions of the week, and open threads.

You do not need to have previous blogging experience.  You do not need to have an opinion on all those topics, you can specialize.  If you’re only able to contribute links to our linkspam, that would be great too!

All you need is send us an e-mail application!  Send to asexualagenda@gmail.com with “Blogger application” in the header.  Please tell us a little about yourself, say why you’d like to join, and include a writing sample.  The deadline is November 4th, midnight GMT.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Meta. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Become an Asexual Agenda contributor!

  1. Lara Landis says:

    I’m busy elsewhere, but you’re welcome to use material from Asexual News as long as you link back to the site. I would love to give you permission for the Examiner column, but I’d have to talk with them about that.

  2. nextstepcake says:

    Several questions:

    1. Both from this post and talking to contributors, it seems a lot of emailing between members is involved. Out of curiosity, what kind of correspondence does this involve? I.e, other than contributing occasional posts what other behind-the-scenes work is involved?

    2.Do you have an approximate time range for how often contributors should submit articles? Like, is it in the range of 1-2 a week, or one every 2 weeks, or something else?

    3. Is there any policy on contributors cross posting posts on their own main blogs as well? Would you prefer they remain here only, or only links are crossposted, or anything else?

    4. Are there any clearer standards for what is considered “Ace 101” and what is considered “advanced discussion”? for example, where would telling personal coming out stories fall?

    5. I know there were previous problems with conflicting views/interpersonal problems. Have any steps been taken to help prevent situations like this in the future? Or can you give any further clarification on what kind of codes of conduct are expected from contributors? This sort of affects me personally because I share some of the unpopular views that were involved in the previous issue and I’m not sure how safe of a place this will be for dissenting views – interaction in comments and on the blog seems fine but I’m not sure how the behind-the-scenes stuff works.

    6. Out of curiosity, how much editorial control does the blog/other contributors have over contributor posts? Like, are individual posts intended to be a group collaboration or are they intended to be only the work/views of the posting individual?

    I think I’m interested, I just would like to know a little more about what I might be getting myself into.

    (also oops that ended up being a lot more questions than I originally intended. Feel free to only answer a few at a time.)

    • Siggy says:

      1. E-mail correspondence consists of lots of things. Occasionally bloggers want feedback. There was also a lot of correspondence over things like the comment policy. To give an idea of the volume, as the admin I had 6 e-mail threads since October 1st.
      2. I suggest once every two weeks, but as you can see, there’s no enforcement.
      3. You can cross-post and repost things.
      4. There are no clear standards, though I have some notes on the subject. Personal stories are fine as long as they don’t dominate the blog content.
      5. I don’t expect bloggers to agree with each other, but I expect them to get along with each other sufficiently to correspond politely.
      6. Everyone’s contributions are their own. At most, other bloggers give feedback, but exert no control.

  3. I wouldn’t mind contributing, but I find that these days I don’t have time to think of things to write about (the actual act of writing doesn’t take very long, I think). When emailing, do you discuss possible topics? Alternatively, it’s possible I could come up with a couple of posts occasionally. But I doubt I’d come up with enough to be a regular contributor.

    Also, if you wanted to link to/re-post any of the old posts on my tumblr, feel free to do so (from back when I actually wrote things). I also wouldn’t mind moving the less tumblr-y posts to an actual blog (see: stuff about relationship hierachies, etc.).

    • Siggy says:

      There is space for people to discuss topics in the back, but in practice we don’t do it very often. It’s up to the bloggers to get that ball rolling.

      Bloggers may repost and cross-post.

Leave a Reply

