Question of the Week: October 2nd, 2012

This is the Question of the Week, a way to stimulate conversation.  It occurs every other Tuesday.

Content note: food, eating

What’s one kind of dessert you wish more people knew about, or you wish you could find more frequently?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Question of the Week: October 2nd, 2012

  1. morethanx says:

    I wish I could find good quality cheesecake more often. I’d also like more deserts that one person can eat. Some of the really delicious ones are for 6 or 8 people and you can’t freeze it into portions or anything.

  2. Seth says:

    The vegan kind. Seriously.

  3. High-quality pumpkin pie. I am pleased that pumpkins will be back in season soon! 🙂

  4. Queenie says:

    Really good key lime pie. Most of what’s sold in stores is way too sweet and doesn’t even taste like limes anymore. I should really just get my mum’s recipe…

    • Aydan says:

      I’ve made it. It’s not too hard. The hardest part is juicing all the limes.

      Also, there are different kinds of limes, and some are more bitter than others, so if you don’t like a sweet pie maybe you could use a particular kind of limes.

  5. Aydan says:

    Pecan pie!

  6. nextstepcake says:

    Not necessarily a desert always, but…soft tofu! Like, the really soft, siken, custardy kind you almost have to eat with a spoon. Also cold tofu in general doesn’t get enough appreciation. I really want to find somewhere local that makes it fresh so I can get the really good silken stuff – I’ve had it in restaurants and it’s so good.

    I can get pretty good stuff from certain asian groceries, but it still doesn’t compare to handmade or local stuff – I think it’s just too hard to transport for it to be really mass-produced.

    And general stores still don’t have enough tofu – and when they do it’s usually the firmer kind.

    • Siggy says:

      I remember when I was little we occasionally went to these places that sold a dessert which consisted of really soft tofu in some sort of syrup. It was served hot. So tofu dessert is totally a thing. (The internet tells me it is called Douhua.)

Leave a Reply

