Linkspam: September 7th, 2012

Every Friday, we will share links to news, blogs, and anything else we find interesting.  We can’t catch everything (and I’ve been especially busy this week), so you are invited to self-promote in the comments!

Edward: Why I care about the pathologization of asexuality, and why you should too

LibiGel, a drug to treat HSDD, is going through Phase III safety studies now.  I’m not sure what that means exactly.

Sexual Attraction 101 Maybe I should attach “TW AVEN” to this link.
When forum posts get this long, I think they should be blogging instead.

Blog spotted!  The Thinking Asexual. It’s been around for a while, but I hadn’t seen it before.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Linkspam. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Linkspam: September 7th, 2012

  1. Lara Landis says:

    It’s not currently going through Phaase III safety trials, it’s going to go through them again. All it means is that if the drug is not proven to be dangerous in the trials, it will be submitted for FDA approval. I think Dallas Bryson or Andrew Hinderliter is a better person to ask about this than me. From what I understand, Libigel is designed to treat a declining libido in post-menopausal women. If a mature woman in a relationship wants to use the drug to make sure that she and her partner have similar sex drives, I don’t really have a problem with it. I do have a problem with most of the other HSDD drugs in development.

  2. Aydan says:

    This line in the Libigel article caught my eye:
    “The medication, which is designed to treat Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder in postmenopausal women, treats a low sex drive. It does not treat a lack of sexual attraction, unlike most of its competitors.”
    How on earth would you treat a lack of sexual attraction?

    • Siggy says:

      There’s nothing logically impossible about a drug that causes people with a lack of sexual attraction to have sexual attraction, and it’s plausible that a drug company would frame it as a treatment. I’m not really sure what competitors Landis is talking about though.

      • Lara Landis says:

        Off the top of my head, Apricus and Sprout Pharmaceuticals are also working on HSDD drugs that work differently.

        And it was a line that I know was changed many times.

      • Aydan says:

        It’s not logically impossible, but the general dogma seems to be that you can’t really do anything about the levels or direction of your sexual attraction. I’ve literally never heard of a way to change that before. I’m wondering if the drug companies are describing sexual attraction in a way different from what I think of when I hear the word. That seems more plausible to me.

    • ace-muslim says:

      The phrasing here definitely seems odd, but from a larger asexual perspective, isn’t it a good thing if pharmaceutical companies and others in the medical industry are beginning to distinguish more clearly between sexual attraction and sex drive and to clarify that they aren’t trying to “fix” asexuals with their products?

  3. Lara Landis says:

    I believe the author was trying to state that makers of Libigel want to correct a physical problem that occurs naturally as people get older. It’s a poor word choice. The other drugs are trying to treat psychological issues that relate to a person’s underlying orientation.

  4. It’s kind of odd that LibiGel’s website doesn’t list Androgel or Testim (the gel they make) as off-label competitiors. I’ve heard of cis women being prescribed Androgel to treat low libido.

Leave a Reply

