August 14 Open Thread

The cover of JRR Tolkien's 'Return of the King,' a large castle in the background, with the title changed to say 'A Walk to Remember.'

[Image description: The cover of JRR Tolkien’s ‘Return of the King,’ a large castle in the background, with the title changed to say ‘A Walk to Remember.’ Via Better Book Titles.]

Better Book Titles takes submissions for new ways of looking at famous books. How is everyone’s week going so far? Looking at anything in a new way lately?

This entry was posted in Open Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to August 14 Open Thread

  1. Annah says:

    I just wanted to comment that even though it doesn’t look like Asexualagenda is getting a lot of comments right off the bat, that I still hella look forward to the posts. Ace-related though, I’m looking forward to Boegart’s book.

    • Sciatrix says:

      I figure if we can keep this volume of posts going, we’ll get more comments as we become more established. 🙂 In my experience, communities get built through generating discussion reliably enough that people get used to coming back.

      Glad you’re enjoying the posts, though!

    • Aydan says:

      I’m really looking forward to Bogaert’s book too! It looks like it’s been released, and it’s nearly sold out (of Amazon’s current stock) already. That probably just means they didn’t stock many, but it’s a good sign, still.

      I hope the actual book lives up to this excitement.

  2. Sciatrix says:

    I’ve been reframing a lot of things lately, probably because of the vacation I’ve been on this month. Giving myself the space to breathe and really take a break from 90% of my responsibilities, even if it’s just until orientation for my program, has helped me destress a lot about the responsibilities I do have. I’m one of those people who tends to take on a lot and then get really stressed about everything, so this has been a reminder to me that it’s important to take a step back, do something fun, and breathe once in a while. Doing that makes the responsibilities I do have seem so much smaller and less scary.

    Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up this frame of mind when I do start working at the end of the month.

  3. Aydan says:

    I’ve been rethinking my abilities lately, and trying to create a better idea of what I can realistically accomplish, by shaking off a cloud of gloom that’s been following me lately.

Leave a Reply

