Question of the Week: July 24th, 2012

This is the Question of the Week, a way to stimulate conversation.  It occurs every other Tuesday.

When I first developed the concept for this blog, it was simply an “asexuality 201 group blog”.  But this blog could go in many directions from there.

Dear readers, what would you like to see in an asexual blog?

(The way comment moderation works, we need to approve your first comment, and then your later comments will be automatically accepted.  Now’s a good time to get approved!)

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Meta, Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Question of the Week: July 24th, 2012

  1. maddox says:

    Something I struggle with as a “veteran” asexual is back-to-basics: how to explain asexuality in a simple yet authentic way to someone who has no foundation in anything LGBTQ/gender/sexuality? Often I use metaphors, or go straight to 201 science, but I’d like to have a handy list of perhaps 5 simple paragraphs or wordbites I could add to my toolkit.

  2. namipuffin says:

    I’m not sure if this is the right place for it, or even if something like this doesn’t already exist, but a properly maintained list of academic writings about asexuality would be really nice. Maybe critical analysis of them, but even just a list of links and abstracts would be cool.

  3. Colette says:

    It’d be great if this blog not to only talk about asexuality, but other parts of the spectrum, such as (but not limited to) aromanticism, demisexuality, and gray a’s.

  4. It will surprise no one that I think that any ace blog beyond 101 needs to include active attempts to build bridges in other communities and reach out in awareness and visibility ways.

    And I’d also be interested in seeing more in depth discussion about relationships. Discussion that goes beyond the “How do I get a partner” and addresses what happens after that, the myriad of types of ace relationships, queer platonic, long distance, partnered together, partnered with non-ace spectrum people, poly relationships/families, group/community intimacy, and I’m sure many many more variations.

    • I hadn’t thought about discussing issues like long distance relationships, that is good to note. I have long-distance friends and my girlfriend and I have been in a LDR for a year and a half now. Is there anything in particular you’d want to see written on LDRs?

      My girlfriend is not on the ace spectrum and I probably will write about that at some point.

      • Queenie says:

        Just wanted to second the discussion of diversity of relationships, as well as the discussion of LDRs. My partner and I have been long-distance for almost a year, and so many people have said to me, “Oh, well, since you’re both asexual, long-distance must not be that hard for you,” to which I want to reply, “NOPE NOPE NOPE NOPE,” but I usually say, “Hmmm, I dunno.” I think a lot of people tend to focus on the loss of sex that happens with long-distance relationships, but, really, you’re losing a lot more than that (and, in my case, sex was never really an issue, so), and you do have to put a lot of time and energy into maintaining that relationship. So, yeah, it would be nice to see a post talking about that, and how aces generally maintain relationships (’cause most relationship advice gets you to the honeymoon period, and then you’re on your own).

    • Jing Feng says:

      The diversity of ace relationships is a good idea! Aces tend to see relationships differently than sexuals, and some special kinds of relationships are much more common among aces, such as queer platonic and romantic friendship. Poly and asexuality is also an interesting topic.

  5. Nina says:

    All of these things here! And just more informative posts. I use tumblr as my main access to asexual-related things and I overwhelmingly see more personal posts and ace hate than I see informational posts or meta and things like that.

  6. ace-muslim says:

    All of the suggestions here are excellent. I’m definitely interested in learning more about academic or scientific research into asexuality. Another topic of interest, which might be 301 level, would be to go beyond the dynamics of relationships and address larger questions like, “What legal rights do a queerplatonic couple have if the partners choose not to marry? What concerns might come up for the partners?” I’d also like to see a revival of the Carnival of Aces and maybe that’s something that this blog can spearhead.

  7. Pingback: Awkward Conversations by Proxy: The Story of a Queerplatonic Triad | The Asexual Agenda

Leave a Reply

