Question of the Week: January 7th, 2014

How do you feel about New Year’s resolutions? Did you make any this year?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question of the Week: January 7th, 2014

  1. Sciatrix says:

    Generally I do not bother with New Year’s resolutions–I’m too impatient! If I think a change needs to be made in my life, I try to make it immediately after I make the decision to change.

    This year I actually am making one, sort of–I decided around the holiday season that I don’t read enough anymore, so I’m making some changes in my priorities to let me get more work reading done and making an active effort to read more novels.

  2. Siggy says:

    I never make New Years resolutions. When I make changes in my life, it’s not by thinking about it and then deciding, it’s just by doing whatever. It seems to work fine. :-P

  3. queenieofaces says:

    I don’t really do New Year’s resolutions for the same reasons as Siggy. I’m not particularly great at timing things (if you are friends with me, there’s a non-zero chance that you’ll get presents from me at random times during the year instead of, you know, during actual gift-giving seasons), so waiting around until New Year’s to resolve to do something never seemed like a particularly good idea to me.

  4. notunprepared says:

    I don’t normally make resolutions but this year my aim is to move the hell out of my parent’s house. I love them, but living with my family is driving me barmy. That’s my resolution this year because I’ve finally graduated university – so it’ll actually be feasible.

  5. Aydan says:

    I must be the exception! I don’t do resolutions so much as goals, though. Among my goals were sending out Christmas cards this year, not eating meals in front of my computer– which I’m violating right now– and getting in the habit of praying again. Also being up for the sunrise once a week, which is not a particularly impressive accomplishment at this latitude and this season.

  6. Long ago, I made a resolution to stop making New Year’s Resolutions, because the whole concept seemed silly (and because it always seemed to used as a topic for a pointless school assignment). So far, I’ve kept that resolution.

  7. Jo says:

    I have made some in the past, but generally I feel like they either just amplify my perfectionism to not-good places (often, my past resolutions have been things like ‘get perfect marks at school,’ or ‘be a better person,’ or just ‘be perfect’), or are too insignificant to be any sort of ‘resolution.’ That said, I do have basic plans for this year that involve graduating, traveling, and applying for honours. :)

  8. Hollis says:

    Normally I don’t make New Years resolutions because they seem pointless. A lot of the time, I do end up setting goals after spring semester for summer, because otherwise I’ll just end up sitting at my house all summer instead of doing things when I’m not working. However, this year, I did make a bunch of resolutions/goals for 2014 just because of the way my life worked out; I had been in a hella depressive funk for the past 3 months, and despite the fact that trial 1 of antidepressants didn’t work at all (having an appetite is really helpful to not starving/passing out/losing an unhealthy amount of weight, shockingly), my depression seems to have lifted slightly so I spent a lot of time thinking about what I want to accomplish & how I want to go about doing things, as lack of set-out goals tends to end poorly, with me withdrawing from life, causing more depression which causes more withdrawal and it’s a pretty terrible downward spiral.

    So my main goals for 2014 are to read more books, do more kayaking, do more research into things I’m interested in/be more informed, and do a better job of keeping in touch with people.

  9. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    I don’t make traditional resolutions either, and haven’t for ages. Given that I do work in a pharmacy and am dealing with all the “gonna stop smoking this year for sure” people, sometimes a couple years in a row, I am by now pretty disillusioned about this kind of goal setting. If things need to change, I make the change as soon as possible, not on some arbitrary date. And that only works if I actually want the change to happen, anyway…
    Goals this year: finish first draft of next novel, host a birthday party, read less fanfiction.
    Funny thing is, before Chrsitmas I did some thinking about how much money I’m earning in relation to other people, and about gift-giving, so I’m now supporting some local organisation that works similarly to the Red Cross. If my timetable weren’t changing every couple of weeks, I’d see about volunteering somewhere, but meh. Doing ace visibility work will have to suffice.

  10. ace-muslim says:

    I usually don’t make New Year’s resolutions but, like many of the other people in this thread, set goals at the time that I’ve decided to make a change. However, this last December and January happen to be a transitional period for me a in a couple of ways so some of the goals I set for this process happened to be made around New Year’s Day :p

Leave a Reply

